What’s Your Awesome?

You may have heard of Neil Pasricha who is renowned for his website (1000 Awesome Things) and books (The Book of Awesome”). He recently brought his website to a close by posting his top (and last) awesome thing, being “Anything you want it to be”. It got me thinking and I made up a list of 10 things on the spot (in no particular order):

  1. Receiving personalized snail mail and postcards
    In the age of e-mail and text messaging, noone really takes the time and effort to send hand-written letters and cards the old-fashioned way anymore. I appreciate the occasional thoughtfulness.
  2. Finding out that an item has been further reduced at check-out
    It’s always a pleasant surprise. Who doesn’t want to save money? Every penny counts!
  3. Touching down at the final destination and reunions at airports
    I love that feeling of anticipation and excitement as a trip is about to begin or seeing loved ones/friends at last.
  4. Taking the first bite of food and realizing how delicious it tastes
    Food really can be orgasmic. I learned this when I had porterhouse steak for the first time. My eyes widened from surprise and I didn’t want the experience to end. Fellow food lovers will be able to understand and relate. Otherwise, we just can’t be friends!
  5. When “your songs” get played at the club
    You know it’s going to be a good night as you drag your friends onto the dancefloor with a drink in your hand, belting out the lyrics, head thrown back, and hands in the air like you just don’t care!
  6. Taking a perfect picture that accurately captures what you envisioned
    A tiny moment of achievement when you can stare at your own photo and think that it’s worthy enough to frame or print.
  7. Sleeping in on a breezy autumn morning
    One of the best feelings is to be cozied up in bed with the window open. You’re snuggled up in the blanket with the crisp, cool breeze coming through. The leaves shuffle and blow about in the trees, creating the perfect soundtrack for sleeping in on the weekend.
  8. Making it to the end of a tough work-out
    It’s daunting at first but you push through the pain. The reward is feeling energized, refreshed, and strong. Gotta love those endorphins!
  9. Laughing until you tear up and stomach hurts
    As the saying goes, “laughter is the best medicine”.
  10. Getting an income tax refund
    Nothing like a sweet little bonus to top up whatever you’re saving up for.

The #10 post titled ‘Canada’ on his website highlights the great things that really resonated with me, especially now that I’m living outside the country. As humble Canadians, we don’t often show our patriotic sides but I think we have lots to brag about. We’re often misunderstood so I like to point out all the misconceptions to the people I meet abroad. I’m also not embarassed by my so-called “Canadian accent” that my international friends like to point out when I say “about”, but that’s what makes me Canadian, eh?

What would you include in your list of Awesome Things?

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Awesome?

  1. I’m going to go off the top of my head and see what I can think of: 1) When someone let’s me cut in front of them at the grocery checkout 2) When an avocado/mango are ripe and DELICIOUS! 3) When you can look at someone and without even saying anything… they totally “get” what it is you need/want. 4) Playing with other people’s cats (lol!) 5) When someone brings me food 6) Surprise gifts 7) Being told by others why you’re special 8) Connecting with someone and wishing we could just put time on hold 9) Making someone else laugh when they are feeling down 10) Losing myself in the moment and finding myself at the same time.

  2. I loved your list. Especially the #1-#4, and #6. I’m a sentimental person too and cards touch my hearts in ways that no other gift can. I love knowing that someone sat down thought about me and took the time to write. Ohh yes and #3 – the airport – always makes me think of the movie “Love Actually” – Do you remember the narration at the beginning? *sigh* 🙂
    Boo… I forgot I could press enter to separate my list earlier – sorry. I thought that it would post my comment if I did. Now I know.
    For #6, sometimes I go through my photos and I get really excited when I see something that stands out from the rest and looks all professional – Basically, looks like I stole it off someone else…. ONLY I did! Makes me proud.

  3. This made my day!

    Thank you for sharing it =D
    I had a rough day yesterday and couldn’t sleep through the night… it’s true though.. there are so many other things to be grateful and happy for.. I can’t let someone else’s action rob me of my happy and (trying) stress-free life.

    My awesome is when someone similes because I smiled at them. That moment of acknowledgement through eye contact.. when you see the cheeks go up and eyes light up.. I think its awesome when a smile spreads =D

Leave a comment